Springwell Learning Community

Menu

Term Dates 2019/20 & School Day


Please refer to the table below for school term dates, including INSET days for the year 2019 – 2020.

Term 1 Tuesday 3rd September 2019 – Friday 25th Oct 2019
Term 2 Monday  4th Nov 2019 – Friday 20th Dec 2019
Term 3 Monday 6th Jan 2020 – Friday 14th Feb 2020
Term 4 Monday 24th Feb 2020 – Friday 3rd April 2020
Term 5 Monday 20th April 2020 – Friday 22nd May 2020
Term 6 Monday 1st June 2020 – Friday 17th July 2020

 

 

Holiday Dates for 2019/20 Academic Year are as follows:


October Half Term

Friday 25th October to Monday 4th November

Christmas

Friday 19th December to Mon 6th January

February Half Term

Friday 14th February to Monday 24th February

Easter

Friday 3rd April to Monday 20th April

May Day

Friday 8th May

May Spring Bank

Friday 22nd May to Monday 1st June

Break up for the summer holiday on Friday 17th July

 

Academic Year 2020/2021 Calendar

Academy INSET Days


Autumn Term – Monday 2nd September 2019

Autumn Term – Friday 11th October 2019 (Half Day INSET)

Autumn Term – Friday 29th November 2019  (Half Day INSET)

Autumn Term – Monday 9th December 2019

Spring Term – Monday 20th January 2020

Spring Term – Friday 7th February 2020 (Wellspring Trust INSET Day)

Spring Term – Friday 6th March 2020 (Half Day INSET)

Summer Term – Friday 3rd July 2020 (Half Day INSET)

 

 

Family Learning Days


Autumn Term – Wednesday 18th December 2019

Spring Term – Wednesday 1st April 2020

Summer Term – Tuesday 14th July 2020

 

 

School Day – Special Academy


Timing of the School Day – The day is divided into 6 teaching periods, including Nurture Breakfast with individual classes having staggered break times throughout the morning.  The pupils’ working week is condensed to allow pupils to leave at 12.45pm on Fridays. Friday afternoon is dedicated to staff professional development.

Nurture Breakfast 08.45 – 09.15
Period 1 09.15 – 10.15
Period 2 10.15 – 11.15
Period 3 11.15 – 12.15
Lunch Time 12.15 – 12.45
Whole School Reading 12.45 – 13.00
Period 4 13.00 – 13.45
Period 5 13.45 – 14.45

The Key Stage 4 curriculum is designed to offer each individual pupil a unique learning pathway. All pupils, using an options process, design a distinctive timetable to meet their individual needs. This curriculum is a combination of work-related learning, off-site provision and classroom based education.

 

School Day – Alternative Academy


As from September 2019 we are making some adjustments to the school day for those children who attend Key Stage 3 and 4 in the Alternative Academy.

Some pupils have been struggling with complicated transport arrangements and finding it very difficult to arrive in school for the normal 8.45 am start. We appreciate that this early start time can be challenging if two or more bus journeys are required when long distances are travelled.

With that in mind, school governors have agreed to change the start time to 9.30 am ready for formal lessons to begin at 10 am. Pupils will arrive, be able to have a drink and some breakfast, plan their day and reflect on their targets in order to be settled and prepared for learning. School will then finish at 2.30 pm to allow pupils to begin their journey home. Pupils will leave at 13:00 on Fridays.

 

Nurture Breakfast / Registration 09.30 – 10.30
Period 1 10.00 – 11.00
Period 2 11.00 – 12.00
Lunch Time 12.00 – 12.30
Period 3 12.30 – 13.00
Period 4 13.30 – 14.30

 

Latest Tweets

Top work Class 6! 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼 📝 https://t.co/LXHXVRYUUm
Our very own elf on the shelf! ❤️ https://t.co/K1OHnJtpmq
RT @beetybum: @springwellLC are the difference...... 169 presents collected from @cashforkids @hallamfm to ensure that every child has a gi…
RT @Dan_Morris91: LONDON BLITZ. Some great newspaper reports produced by the pupils in class 6. @springwellLC https://t.co/x1SmAZ3Qqw